The Joy of Sculling is focused on educating coaches by creating an enjoyable learning environment in which coaches share their ideas and practices, and develop their understanding of Integral Coaching: a comprehensive approach to instruction. With this purpose in the James C. Joy Scholarship was created in 2009.

There are many cases where a young coach may not be able to attend the conference due to lack of funds. We will be selecting annually a recipient of the scholarship which has been established to help defray the costs of attending the conference at Saratoga Springs.

Contributors from 2017

Thank you to everyone who contributed to the James C. Joy Scholarship in 2017.

Jon Bancheri
Carol Bower
Tom Cosgrove
Steve Ciraolo
Clare Doyle
James Dreher
John Gaskin
Beth Greene
Kelly Harris
Brad Hemmerly
Daniel Jefferies
Scott Johnson
Megan Kuehm
Martha Kohn
Katie Lane
Dan Martin
Larry Muri
Kevin Murphy
Jonathan Near
Wes Ng & Kate Hanlen
Clemens Reinke
Becky Robinson
Steve Smith
Tessa Spillane
Emma Taylor
David & Leah Vogel
……and many anonymous donors

2018 Scholarship

The deadline is 10/31/2018. The scholarship covers registration and lodging for the conference and is open to any coach at any level.

The recipient(s) will be notified by 11/07/2018.

If you would like to nominate someone for the scholarship please email Mark Davis ( and Peter Steenstra ( with your recommendation.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Start typing and press Enter to search